Writing Women Into History 2022 Awards: Call for Nominations

The Macomb Feminist Network (MFN) is accepting nominations for its 2022 Writing Women into History Award.

The Award was established in 2010 to honor, promote, and expand our knowledge of the extraordinary contributions individual women have made in shaping and strengthening our local community.

Women eligible to be nominated for this award must meet the following criteria: (a) have resided in McDonough County, (b) have been exceptional role models, and (c) have made extraordinary contributions within the local community through their initiatives, advocacy and/or engagement.

Any community member may submit a nomination by completing the nomination form. Self-nominations may be considered if accompanied by a letter of support. Nominations of women who have passed away will also be considered. Nominations will only be considered the year they are submitted, but previous nominees may be re-nominated if they were not chosen earlier.

Past award recipients include: Wanda Black, Mary Ellen Graff, Rosa Julstrom, and Beth Stiffler (2010); Constance DeMuth Berg, Marcia Moll, and Ruth Parks (2011); Maria Dunstan, Judith Kohler, and Donna Werner (2012); Josephine Johnson, Elizabeth “Betty” Kaspar, and Janice Welsch (2013); Gordana Rezab, Mary Warnock, and Alice Swain (2014); Lois Ganyard, Suzan Nash, and Margaret Ovitt (2015); Alice Henry, Alta Sargent, and Peggy Scharfenberg (2016); Lorraine Epperson, Debbie Maguire, Pamella McLean, and Becky Parker (2017), Sally Egler, Martha Klems, Maurine Magliocco, and Paula Wise (2018), Belinda Carr, Susan Lawhorn, Winona Malpass, Essie Rutledge, and Patricia Walton (2019), and Janine Cavicchia, Patricia (Patti) Jones, Lois Lueck, and Sue Scott (2020). No recipients were recognized in 2021 because of COVID 19 restrictions.

The 2022 recipients of the Award will be honored at a brunch reception hosted by the Macomb Feminist Network on Saturday, March 5, 2022, from 10:00 am to noon at the Wesley Village Community Center.

Nomination forms may be downloaded from MFN’s website (www.macombfeminists.org) or may be obtained by emailing Patricia Walton at PA-Walton@wiu.edu. Completed nomination forms should be sent to Patricia Walton via email (PA-Walton@wiu.edu) or at Macomb Feminist Network, P. O. Box 765, Macomb, IL 61455.  The deadline for nominations is Saturday, December 4, 2021.

2022 Writing Women Into History Award – Nomination Form

%d bloggers like this: