Writing Women into History Award: Call for 2019 Nominations

The Macomb Feminist Network (MFN) is accepting nominations for its 2019 Writing Women into History Award.

The Award was established in 2010 to honor, promote, and expand our knowledge of the extraordinary contributions individual women have made in shaping and strengthening our local community.

Women eligible to be nominated for this award must meet the following criteria: a) have resided in McDonough County, 2) have been exceptional role models, and 3) through their initiatives, advocacy and/or engagement have made extraordinary contributions within the local community.

Any community member may submit a nomination by completing the nomination form. Self-nominations may be considered if accompanied by a letter of support. Nominations of women who have passed away will also be considered.

Past award recipients include: Wanda Black, Mary Ellen Graff, Rosa Julstrom, and Beth Stiffler (2010); Constance DeMuth Berg, Marcia Moll, and Ruth Parks (2011); Maria Dunstan, Judith Kohler, and Donna Werner (2012); Josephine Johnson, Elizabeth “Betty” Kaspar, and Janice Welsch (2013); Gordana Rezab, Mary Warnock, and Alice Swain (2014); Lois Ganyard, Suzan Nash, and Margaret Ovitt (2015); Alice Henry, Alta Sargent, and Peggy Scharfenberg (2016); Lorraine Epperson, Debbie Maquire, Pamella McLean, and Becky Parker (2017), and Sally Egler, Martha Klems, Maurine Magliocco, and Paula Wise (2018).

The 2019 recipients of the Award will be honored at a brunch reception hosted by the Macomb Feminist Network on Saturday March 2, 2018, from 10:00 am to noon at the Wesley Village Community Center.

WWIH 2019 Nomination Form (click to download Word document)

WWIH 2019 Nomination Form (click to download fillable PDF file)

Completed nomination forms and letters should be sent to Margaret Ovitt via email (Ovitt@macomb.com) or Macomb Feminist Network, P. O. Box 765, Macomb, IL 61455.  The deadline for nominations is Friday, November 30, 2018.

%d bloggers like this: